Digital Literacy Self-Test Results -> BOO!!!!

Well…. that’s the internet for you. Nowadays, there’s just too much things to explore on the internet at just the click of a button it really just blows my mind about all the time I would have taken in order to read every single thing on the internet. Sometimes I just wish I could be a robot and just absorb every single information I see on the internet but let’s be honest here okay, we all probably see a lot everyday on the internet but at the end of the day, I think we probably absorb only about 30% minimum of everything, at least in my case.

So, prior to taking the self test as posted on the soton blog, I decided to google and search for another digital literacy test for me to try for the fun of it. I did pretty okay on the test and if you guys want to try it out too you guys can check it out by using the link below :

http://www.digitalliteracy.eu/ecdl_survey.jsp

If you guys did the test do comment below and share your results! πŸ™‚

Anyway…. moving on to the point of this post :

THE DIGITAL LITERACY SELF TEST! YES… THAT’S RIGHT… ALMOST FORGOT

Hope no one is sleeping by now reading my blog post!

Here are my results!

Accessing, managing and evaluating online information: 3 – I definitely know how to use google, use the information as shown, analyze and site in in my reports etc. But now that I really think about it… it seems to be the only thing I know how to do… *stress*

Participating in online communities: 2 – I do participate in online communities like on twitter and I LOVE USING TUMBLR. It’s a place where there’s a bunch of really funny people and no one really judges anyone there, you can totally be yourself and just share a bunch of awesome pictures together.

Building online networks around an area of interest: 1 – I never really have built an online network around an area of interest by myself, but would definitely join one! πŸ™‚

Collaborating with others: 3 – I can collaborate with people through social media, if this is what the test means.

Creating online materials (text, audio, images, video): 2 – Using powerpoint, paint *LOL* (not photoshop, that’s for the pros), or photography and video apps. I occasionally use the iMovie on my macbook to create a simple video when I want to.

Managing your online identity: 2– I don’t really manage my online identity that well as I guess I don’t see the need for it at the moment. Maybe in the future where I will need it more when I apply for a job etc. I do have an instagram and twitter account but recently deactivated my facebook account (just didn’t see a need for it).

Managing your online privacy and security: 2 – I definitely know the basics like I know it’s recommended to change your password like every 3 months or something like that or setting accounts private etc. but other than that, I would admit I’m rather clueless. :/

I would say I definitely know most of the basics, but I wouldn’t call myself an expert, or even at least fairly confident in it. Of course, I hope to improve all of this over the next 12 days and treat it as an ongoing learning process as the internet continues to grow old with me hehe. :p

Let’s see how my ending evaluation at the end of the module turns out….

xx

References: Digital Literacy Survey. 2014. Digital Literacy Survey. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.digitalliteracy.eu/ecdl_survey.jsp. [Accessed 26 November 2014].

2 thoughts on “Digital Literacy Self-Test Results -> BOO!!!!

  1. Hey Charmaine, i went to do the digital literacy survey that u posted. HAHA! I almost thought that was the one that all of us need to do and i went to check with some of our other classmates. Phew~
    Here are my results, i’m actually quite surprised that this is how they test digital literacy. Perhaps it’s a survey that has been put up long ago? Or rather it’s just testing the basic skills?

    My total confidence score was 77% but my test result is 92%. Love this post! Thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Hey Wen Hui!! Thanks for reading my post and actually trying out the survey!! That’s exactly what I felt about the test too! I did the easier one hehe. There’s others out there which are a lot harder than this that I gave up after a few questions xD! At least we did alright in this one πŸ™‚ Guess we still have a lot to learn! Jiayou! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

